Introduction

Over the past few weeks I have really been feeling like God is telling me to start a blog. So, I started a blog.

I feel like God is telling me to share my knowledge of Worship and music with everyone.

Over the past 4 years I have had the privilege to serve with an amazing Worship band. I’ve learned so much and I am great full. Now it’s my turn to share what I know.

Here’s a little history about me. I’ve been playing drums for over 10 years and I have been playing in Worship bands for over 7 years. I’ve played in small church’s, big church’s, events, concerts and just jammed in my own house.

I’ve been taught many things about worship, drumming and music in general. I credit most of this to God but also to my worship leader and my good friend Josh N. who is also a drummer and worship leader.

I started playing drums at Lifepoint Church in Findlay, Ohio in 2009. I had left my previous church and never thought I’d play drums in a church again. Well, God had other ideas.

When I started I really didn’t know much about music or even drumming. I was an “alright” musician. I know for a fact that I could not keep a steady beat and I really didn’t have an open heart for criticism. Many times I got mad when someone would call me out and try and give me advice.

They may not have known it at the time but I got pretty mad at a few people. I look back now and think of how selfish I was. They were just trying to help me.

One of the most important things I have learned in 4 years is to take criticism with an open heart. I wouldn’t be the musician and Christ Follower that I am today without the help of my church and more specifically, my worship team.

Another thing that you have to understand is that ministry is a privilege. There were many times where I almost lost that privilege because of my immaturity. At the time I thought “who cares if I get kicked off the worship team. It would mean more time for paintball.”

I definitely regret saying that because like I said above. My church and Worship band helped change my life.

In the next few months I’ll go into more detail certain topics. I wanna share my knowledge of Worship and music with everybody. I’m definitely not the smartest person when it comes to Worship and music but I feel like what I know can help others.

I know that God can use me and I am coming into this with an open heart. I don’t know what all I will be covering but God will bring me the words to say.

Welcome to my blog and I hope you stick around!

Do not neglect to do good and to share what you have, for such sacrifices are pleasing to God. (Hebrews 13:16 ESV)

    • Brian LaRue
    • September 3rd, 2013

    Welcome to WordPress, Josh. I’m looking forward to reading your posts and joining in the discussion!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

