Don’t Beat Yourself Up

We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. (Romans 5:3, 4 NLT)

I think it’s safe to say that all musicians make mistakes or mess up. Whether it’s during practice or in the middle of a live performance. We all screw up. Don’t beat yourself up.

I remember one time when I literally just wanted to throw my drumsticks and give up. My church’s worship band was practicing for our Christmas Service and there was one song I just could not get down.

The song was called First Snow and it was by Trans Siberian Orchestra. Now, for anyone that has heard of them. You know their songs are pretty complicated. Most of First Snow is pretty easy for me to play but the part that I could not get was the transition from the chorus to the verse. It was a weird time signature and I couldn’t figure out how to count it out.

I was getting pretty frustrated and at one point I threw my sticks on the ground and walked away. I had to cool down. While I was taking a break I felt like God was telling me to read Philippians 4:13. “For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:13 NLT)”

I had read that verse many times but I never really took it to heart. After reading it I felt this sense of peace and confidence. So I got back up on the drums and my first try I nailed the part.

After that I grabbed a sharpie and wrote Philippians 4:13 on my snare head. That way if I would get discouraged during the rest of practice or during the live performance I could look at it and know that God was in control. I didn’t screw up again even through the rest of practice or our live performance.

There have been times since then that I’ve needed to read that scripture. Sometimes I’d have a bad day at work or something just didn’t go as I planned. I’d sit down at my drums during practice or on Sunday morning and I would read that scripture and all my worries would disappear.

I had to rely on God to help me. That’s why when you screw up or mess up a part. Don’t get mad or discouraged. Give it up to God. Ask him to help you and to give you patience.

Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you. (1 Peter 5:7 NLT)

If you’re struggling with a song or are a new musician just starting out. Remember, we ALL make mistakes. Practice makes perfect and with God’s help you can do ANYTHING.

Thanks for reading!

20130904-172103.jpg

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

