God Is The Comforter

God is our refuge and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble. (Psalms 46:1 NLT)

A lot of people may not know this about me. But I don’t like reaching outside of my comfort zone. I’m not the type of person who can walk into a place and immediately make friends and start talking with random people. I like staying where I am comfortable.

Well, over the past couple weeks I’ve definitely had to reach outside my comfort zone. Recently my church closed and I was completely devastated. You could say that I was pretty comfortable there. I knew pretty much everyone, I played drums every weekend and I felt accepted there.

So now that I’m trying to find a new church. I have to meet new people and talk to new people. Sometimes I’m so worried what people are gonna think of me or if I’m gonna say the right thing that I get scared. I’m scared because I’m uncomfortable.

I’ve definitely had to rely on God for comfort and to lead me in the right direction. Luckily for me, God has answered my prayers for comfort and help. (Psalms 116:1)

If there’s one thing that has really made me step outside my comfort zone was the college aged bible study I went to Sunday night. I did NOT want to go. When I was invited I had to really think about it. I eventually said yes and the hours leading up to it I was scared.

I basically asked God to help me get past my fear of meeting new people and worry of being judged. He answered me and I had a really good time. Everyone was friendly and the lesson was very convicting.

The lyrics to a song called I Have Been There by Mark Schultz have really spoken to me today. The lyrics are what God is saying to us.

“I have been there, I know what fear is all about
Yes, I have been there and I’m standing with you now.”

When we give our worries to God, he listens. God wants us to rely on him. He wants to comfort us. No man or object can give us comfort like God can. We may think that stuff like money, food or tv can comfort us but they don’t. They may give us a “high” for a few minutes but nothing can compare to the spiritual high that God can give us for an eternity.

When David fought Goliath he relied on God to help him. When David said that he would kill Goliath, Saul said that there was no way David could kill Goliath, he had been a warrior since his youth. He was far too big for David. Implying that this situation was too big for God.

Still David wanted to do it. He said that he had fought off lions and bears when they tried to attack his sheep. He would go after them and kill them to rescue his sheep. David said that God rescued him from the claws of bears and lions and that God would rescue him from Goliath.

Saul finally consented and gave David his armor but David didn’t want it because it didn’t feel right and he wasn’t used to it. (He knew that something of man would not help him.)

With the help of God, David killed Goliath. God can do the same for us. He can rescue us from our Goliath’s.

God says that if we have the faith of a mustard seed, we can move mountains. (Matthew 17:20)

I don’t think that we understand the full power of God and I don’t think we ever will. We think that our problems are too small for Him to care or not important enough or are too big for Him. That’s not true at all. Sometimes I think “This is stupid, why am I worrying about this? Why would God care about this?”. God cares about everything in our lives. Like I said before. He wants us to cry out to Him, He wants us to ask Him for help.

We HAVE to rely on God. It’s as simple as that. With God all things are possible (Philippians 4:13) and He can help us through whatever we are going through.

If you’re going through a rough patch in your life and you’re trying to use worldy things to comfort you, I challenge you to give those up and seek God for comfort. There’s no special way to ask Him. Just simply ask Him to guide you and to give you peace of mind and an understanding of the situation. The key is to completely give it to Him, don’t halfheartedly do it. Go all in.

God Is The Comforter

do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus(Philippians 4:6, 7 ESV)

20130909-222457.jpg

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

